European culture capital 2020 in Croatia and Ireland

EU candidate countries can vie every three years after 2019

20 July, 17:06

(ANSAmed) - Brussels, July 20 - European culture capitals in 2020 will be in Croatia and Ireland, according to a calendar of events for 2020 to 2033 released by the European Commission Friday. A new development in the calendar shows that starting in 2020, every three years European Union candidate countries can also propose themselves to host the culture fest, as well as member countries.

An Italian city will be designated European culture capital in 2019. After that, it won't be Italy's turn again until 2033.

Italian culture capitals in the past include Florence in 1986, Bologna in 2000, and Genoa in 2004.

Eighteen Italian cities are vying for the title in 2019: Amalfi, Bari, Bergamo, Brindisi, Carbonia, Catanzaro, L'Aquila, Lecce, Mantua, Matera, Palermo, Perugia and Assisi, Ravenna, Siena, Siracuse, Turin, Urbino and Venice - together with regions of the northeast. Cities in EU candidate countries can compete in 2020, 2023, 2026, 2029 and 2032.

Currently the EU candidate countries are Turkey and the Balkans - Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Albania, Bosnia Herzegovina and Kosovo. (ANSAmed).


Business opportunities

The information system of business
opportunities abroad

News from Mediterranean