10 EU countries to take in 400 minors from Lesvos, Berlin

EU to fund construction of new camp on Greek island

11 September, 17:56

    (ANSAmed) - BERLIN, SEPTEMBER 11 - Ten European countries will take in 400 unaccompanied minors from the Moria Greek migrant camp on the island of Lesvos, German Interior Minister Horst Seehofer has announced. The majority will be divided between France and Germany that will host respectively 100 and 150 children each. The exact number has not been stated by the German interior minister. The 10 European countries who have decided to welcome the 400 unaccompanied migrant minors evacuated from Lesvos after the fire at the Moria camp are: Germany, France, Finland, Luxembourg, Slovenia, the Netherlands, Croatia, Portugal, Belgium and, outside the EU, Switzerland, the Belga news agency reports. ''The situation is serious'', said in a statement the Belgian minister for asylum and migration, Maggie De Block. ''Although we are doing much more than the majority of member States, Belgium wants to show once again solidarity to Greece. However, our country continues to invoke a long-lasting solution at a European level''. The EU is ready to ''finance a new, more modern camp'' on the island of Lesvos after the fire in Moria, said the executive vice president of the European Commission, Margaritis Schinas, in a video conference from Greece with Seehofer. ''The European Union is not only ready to finance and support the construction of this new structure but also to consider any Greek request for a more active role in the management of this new structure'', added Schinas.(ANSAmed). (ANSA).

    © Copyright ANSA - All rights reserved

    Business opportunities

    The information system of business
    opportunities abroad

    News from Mediterranean