Eu: Croatia:CEI countries,ratifications to respect timeframe

Final statement at Trieste Foreign Ministers summit

13 June, 20:42

(ANSAmed) - TRIESTE, JUNE 13 - Foreign Ministers from the 18 countries belonging to the Central European Initiative (CEI) have today called for ''the process of ratification by the Parliaments of the 27 EU member states to be completed as soon as possible, to allow Croatia to enter the European Union on July 1 2013'', according to the final statement from today's summit in Trieste.

Ministers examined recent developments in the area, from the recent granting of candidate status to Serbia to progress made by Albania. They also ''encouraged Bosnia Herzegovina to continue with its programme of reforms, expressed their hope that EU accession talks with Montenegro will be opened by the end of the Danish presidency of the Union, and welcomed efforts by Macedonia, which is looking to open accession talks, inviting all sides involved to resolve outstanding bilateral issues''. (ANSAmed).

© Copyright ANSA - All rights reserved

More information on INCE - Central European Initiative

Business opportunities

The information system of business
opportunities abroad

News from Mediterranean