China-Eastern Europe cooperation summit in Dubrovnik

16+1, focus on infrastructure and energy

12 April, 15:18

    (ANSAmed) - ZAGREB, APRIL 12 - An annual summit between China and the countries of central Europe and the Balkans, commonly known as 16+1, began on Friday morning in Dubrovnik on the Croatian coast.

    The summit is dedicated to economic cooperation and development of shared projects, part of the strategic Chinese "New Silk Road" initiative.

    Croatian Prime Minister Andrej Plenkovic opened the plenary session and said the summit will focus on the development of shared projects, in particular in the fields of infrastructure and energy.

    In the afternoon a new coordination of the initiative dedicated to small and medium-sized businesses will be presented.

    This year's summit in Dubrovnik is the 8th summit between China and the Central and Eastern European Countries (CEEC), 11 of which are EU members.

    Countries in the 16+1 are: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, and Slovenia.

    Greek Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras also attended the summit, showing his intention for Greece to formally join the initiative.

    Fourteen heads of state are in attendance at the summit along with Chinese Prime Minister Li Keqiang, who is leading a large delegation made up of government officials.

    About a thousand entrepreneurs, 400 of whom are Chinese, are participating in the summit.

    © Copyright ANSA - All rights reserved

    Business opportunities

    The information system of business
    opportunities abroad

    News from Mediterranean