Covid: Morocco closes borders with six more countries

In all, 26 air border closures

09 March, 16:25

    (ANSAmed) - RABAT, MARCH 9 - Morocco on Tuesday closed its airports to flights departing to or arriving from six additional countries due to Covid-19: Finland, Greece, Kuwait, Lebanon, Norway and Poland.

    This brings to 26 the total number of countries with which Morocco has closed flights.

    The suspension is temporary, until 21 March, and regards also Italy as well as Algeria, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Germany, Ireland, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

    Among the measures adopted by Rabat to contain the coronavirus epidemic is also the extension of the health state of emergency until 10 April.

    Since 28 January, a vaccination campaign has been underway across Morocco, which has thus far reached four million citizens.

    Covid cases have reached about 490,000 including 470,000 hospitalisations, with the number of Covid deaths rising to 8,683.


    © Copyright ANSA - All rights reserved

    Business opportunities

    The information system of business
    opportunities abroad

    News from Mediterranean