Nationalist candidates win Bosnia presidential elections

Izetbegovic (Muslim) and Cocic (Croat) win, no Serb winner yet

13 October, 20:37

    (ANSAmed) - SARAJEVO - The vote for the Bosnia-Herzegovina state presidency, in which Serbs, Croats and Muslims (Bosniaks) share power, has been won by rival nationalist party candidates. Bakir Izetbegovic (SDA) was the victor for a second term as the Muslim member of the presidency, while Dragan Coviv (HDZ) will be his Croat counterpart. The results were still uncertain - after 90.24% of the votes had been counted - for the Serb seat, but opposition candidate Mladen Ivanic was a thousand votes ahead of Prime Minister Zeljka Cvijanovic.

    Izetbegovic got 226,860 votes, followed at a distance by Fahrudin Radoncic (SBB) with 187,005. The announcement was made on Monday afternoon by the election committee after 92.61% of the ballots had been counted. The Croat member of the presidency, which is elected in the BH Federation (Muslim-Croat majority body) on the same ballot as that for the Muslim representative, will be Dragan Covic (HDZ) after getting 117,537 votes. In second place was Martin Raguz (HDZ 1990) with 86,306.

    The Serb member of the Bosnian presidency, elected in Republika Srpska (RS, Serb-majority body), was still unclear after 90.24% of the votes had been counted. Opposition candidate Mladen Ivanic, with 279,822 votes, was only about a thousand votes ahead of RS prime minister Zeljka Cvijanovic (SNSD), who had received 278,845.

    SNSD leader Milorad Dodik has indirectly admitted Cvijanovic's defeat by saying that he couldn't manage to believe that ''Serbs voted for Ivanic, who enjoys the support of Muslims and the international community''. (ANSAmed).

    © Copyright ANSA - All rights reserved

    Business opportunities

    The information system of business
    opportunities abroad

    News from Mediterranean