Kosovo parliament approves new government

PM Isa Mustafa; Serbs get deputy PM and 2 ministers

09 December, 17:06

    (ANSAmed) - PRISTINA, DECEMBER 9 - The new government of Kosovo formed on Monday, result of a coalition between the two largest parties, received parliamentary approval on Tuesday. The vote passed with 73 in favor, 38 against and two abstentions. Not all of the 120 MPs were present. Prime Minister Isa Mustafa, head of the Democratic League of Kosovo (LDK), pledged to focus on rule of law, economic development, the private sector and more jobs. Greater efforts will be put towards fighting corruption, criminality and terrorism, he said, and neighborhood policies and dialogue would be stepped up with Serbia to strengthen peace and stability in the region. The coalition agreement was drawn up between the LDK and the Democratic Party of Kosovo (PDK) under outgoing prime minister Hashim Thaci, who will hold the dual roles of deputy prime minister and foreign minister in the new government. Thaci has been assured that he will become president in 2016, when the term of the current head of state, Atifete Jahjaga, ends. There are 21 ministers in the new government: eight from the LDK, seven from the PDK and two from a small party within the coalition. The Serb minority will have a deputy PM and two ministries. The new government and the election of a new parliamentary speaker on Monday marks the end to a six-month political stalemate in Kosovo that had been in place since the June 8 elections. It is generally hoped that UN-brokered dialogue between Pristina and Belgrade will now resume and that an association of Serb communities will be set up in line with an EU agreement signed in April 2013. (ANSAmed).

    © Copyright ANSA - All rights reserved

    Business opportunities

    The information system of business
    opportunities abroad

    News from Mediterranean